Your Councillors

Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the Council should carry out its various activities. They represent public interest as well as individuals living within the ward in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office.

They have regular contact with the general public through Council meetings or individual contact.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form.

To find your Councillor please use the below links:

Councillor
Photograph Councillor Political party Ward
photo of Councillor Shirleyann Andrews

Councillor Shirleyann Andrews

Honey Cottage, Beaver Lane, Bradworthy, Devon, EX22 7SU

Home: 01409 240091

Work: councillor.andrews@torridge.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats
(Liberal Democrats)
Hartland
photo of Councillor Louis Bach

Councillor Louis Bach

Spindrift, Golf Links Road, Westward Ho!, Bideford, EX39 1HH

Home mobile: 07837 322673

Work: councillor.bach@torridge.gov.uk

Independent
(Independent)
Westward Ho!
photo of Councillor Annie Brenton

Councillor Annie Brenton

Cotazur, Torridge HIll, Bideford, Devon, EX39 2AZ

Home: 01237 478414

Work: councillor.anniebrenton@torridge.gov.uk

Labour
(Labour)
Bideford West
photo of Councillor David Brenton

Councillor David Brenton

Group Leader

Cotazur, Torridge Hill, Bideford, EX39 2AZ

Home: 01237 478414

Work: Councillor.brenton@torridge.gov.uk

Home: councillor.brenton@torridge.gov.uk

Labour
(Labour)
Bideford South
photo of Councillor Chris Bright

Councillor Chris Bright

Home mobile: 07936 325 909

Work: councillor.bright@torridge.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats
(Liberal Democrats)
Great Torrington
photo of Councillor Lauren Bright

Councillor Lauren Bright

33 South Street, Great Torrington, Devon, EX38 8AB

Home mobile: 07595659310

Work: cllr.laurenbright@torridge.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats
(Liberal Democrats)
Great Torrington
photo of Councillor Doug Bushby

Councillor Doug Bushby

Chair of the Council and Lead Member for Finance & Audit

Glenwood, Northdown Road, Bideford, EX39 3LP

Home: 01237 472 734

Work: councillor.bushby@torridge.gov.uk

Independent
(Independent)
Bideford North
photo of Councillor Cheryl Cottle-Hunkin

Councillor Cheryl Cottle-Hunkin

Group Leader and Lead Member for Culture & Community Engagement

Woodhouse Farm, Petrockstowe, Okehampton, Devon, EX20 3ET

Home: 07495367801

Work: cllr.Cottle-Hunkin@torridge.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats
(Liberal Democrats)
Shebbear & Langtree
photo of Councillor James Craigie

Councillor James Craigie

19A Buttgarden Street, Bideford, Devon, EX39 2AU

Home: 01237 422526

Home mobile: 07579814099

Work: councillor.jamescraigie@torridge.gov.uk

Independent
(Independent)
Bideford East
photo of Councillor Anna Dart

Councillor Anna Dart

Quinecote, Cheristow, Hartland, EX39 6DA

Home: 01237 441011

Work: councillor.dart@torridge.gov.uk

Independent
(Independent)
Hartland
photo of Councillor Thomas Elliott

Councillor Thomas Elliott

Home: 01805 804473

Home mobile: 07544809498

Work: councillor.elliott@torridge.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative)
Two Rivers & Three Moors
photo of Councillor Len Ford

Councillor Len Ford

8 Greysand Crescent, Torridge Road, Appledore, Bideford, EX39 1SE

Home: 07857 662 807

Work: councillor.ford@torridge.gov.uk

Non-Aligned
(Non-Aligned)
Appledore
photo of Councillor Stephen Gibson

Councillor Stephen Gibson

Upcott Barton, Broadwoodwidger, Devon, PL16 0JR

Home mobile: 07899842074

Work: councillor.gibson@torridge.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative)
Broadheath
photo of Councillor Jude Gubb

Councillor Jude Gubb

13 North Avenue, Bideford, EX389 4RD

Home: 01237 475 455

Home mobile: 07890184561

Work: councillor.gubb@torridge.gov.uk

Independent
(Independent)
Bideford East
photo of Councillor Philip Hackett

Councillor Philip Hackett

Lead Member for Public Health & Community Safety

Bridgeland Cottage, South Street, Sheepwash, Devon, EX21 5NA

Home mobile: 07810 548 288

Work: councillor.hackett@torridge.gov.uk

Independent
(Independent)
Broadheath
photo of Councillor Peter Hames

Councillor Peter Hames

Lead Member for Climate Change

Devon Cottage, Churchill Way, Northam, Bideford, EX39 1NS

Home: 01237 421 065

Work: councillor.hames@torridge.gov.uk

Green Party
(Green Independents)
Appledore
photo of Councillor Stephen Harding

Councillor Stephen Harding

29 Old Market Drive, Woolsery, Bideford, EX39 5QF

Home: 01237 431 532

Home mobile: 07818 702 640

Work: councillor.harding@torridge.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative)
Hartland
photo of Councillor Carl Hawkins

Councillor Carl Hawkins

53 Stucley Road, Bideford, EX39 3EQ

Home mobile: 07704 111 898

Work: councillor.hawkins@torridge.gov.uk

Non-Aligned
(Non-Aligned)
Bideford West
photo of Councillor Kit Hepple

Councillor Kit Hepple

Flat 1, Molesworth Arms, Pyworthy, Holsworthy, EX22 6SU

Home: 07973 189 690

Work: councillor.hepple@torridge.gov.uk

Independent
(Independent)
Milton & Tamarside
photo of Councillor Robert Hicks

Councillor Robert Hicks

Lead Member for Economy & Estates

West Hele, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, EX39 5LZ

Home: 01237 451044

Home mobile: 07773 795823

Work: councillor.hicks@torridge.gov.uk

Independent
(Independent)
Monkleigh & Putford
photo of Councillor Claire Hodson

Councillor Claire Hodson

Deputy Leader of the Council and Lead Member for Homelessness and Housing Need

Hollins, Nelson Road, Westward Ho!, Bideford, EX39 1LQ

Home mobile: 07866 562 113

Work: councillor.hodson@torridge.gov.uk

Independent
(Independent)
Westward Ho!
photo of Councillor Simon Inch

Councillor Simon Inch

20 Pincombe Road, Bideford, Devon, EX39 2FX

Home mobile: 07758230493

Work: councillor.simoninch@torridge.gov.uk

Independent
(Independent)
Bideford South
photo of Councillor Ken James

Councillor Ken James

Group Leader, Leader of the Council and Lead Member for Customer Services and Internal Resources

Merrifield Farm, Bridgerule, Holsworthy, EX22 7EB

Home: 01288 381279

Work: councillor.james@torridge.gov.uk

Independent
(Independent)
Milton & Tamarside
photo of Councillor Trevor Johns

Councillor Trevor Johns

24 Stanbridge Park, Londonderry, Bideofrd, Devon, EX39 3RS

Home: 01237 473397

Work: councillor.johns@torridge.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats
(Liberal Democrats)
Bideford North
photo of Councillor Chris Leather

Councillor Chris Leather

Lead Member for Operational Services

10 Northdene, Raleigh Hill, Northam, Devon, EX39 3NZ

Home: 01237 425940

Home mobile: 07812154161

Work: councillor.leather@torridge.gov.uk

Independent
(Independent)
Northam
photo of Councillor Wendy Lo-Vel

Councillor Wendy Lo-Vel

Little Cleave, Lower Cleave, Northam, Bideford, EX39 2RH

Home: 01237 479730

Home mobile: 07766228592

Work: councillor.lo-vel@torridge.gov.uk

Green Party
(Green Independents)
Northam
photo of Councillor Rosemary Lock

Councillor Rosemary Lock

Lead Member for Planning & Development

Cleave Farm, Dolton, Winkleigh, EX19 8QT

Home: 01805 804254

Work: councillor.lock@torridge.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative)
Two Rivers & Three Moors
photo of Councillor Simon Newton MBE

Councillor Simon Newton MBE

Group Leader and Lead Member for Legal & Democratic Services

Meadowland Farm, Dolton, Winkleigh, EX19 8RQ

Home mobile: 07943 830220

Work: councillor.newton@torridge.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative)
Winkleigh
photo of Councillor Philip Pennington

Councillor Philip Pennington

Ashridge Barton, Hallsannery, Bideford, EX39 5HE

Home: 07905 606328

Work: councillor.pennington@torridge.gov.uk

Independent
(Independent)
Monkleigh & Putford
photo of Councillor Lyndon Piper

Councillor Lyndon Piper

Lead Member for Leisure

Home: 01409 253363

Home mobile: 07811800001

Work: councillor.piper@torridge.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats
(Liberal Democrats)
Holsworthy
photo of Councillor Peter Shepherd

Councillor Peter Shepherd

81 Reden Road, Bude, Cornwall, EX23 8TP

Home: 01409 255533

Home mobile: 07581000247

Work: Councillor.shepherd@torridge.gov.uk

Independent
(Independent)
Holsworthy
photo of Councillor Doug Smith

Councillor Doug Smith

Vice Chair of the Council

Daisy Cottage, 15 Taddiport, Great Torrington, Devon, EX38 8AT

Home: 01805 623237

Home mobile: 07970636199

Work: councillor.smith@torridge.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats
(Liberal Democrats)
Great Torrington
photo of Councillor Huw Thomas

Councillor Huw Thomas

221 Churchill Road, Bideford, Devon, EX39 4HH

Home mobile: 07482089284

Work: councillor.thomas@torridge.gov.uk

Green Party
(Green Independents)
Bideford East
photo of Councillor Teresa Tinsley

Councillor Teresa Tinsley

The Grange, Grange Road, Bideford, EX39 4HS

Home: 07818028021

Work: councillor.tinsley@torridge.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats
(Liberal Democrats)
Bideford North
photo of Councillor Chris Wheatley

Councillor Chris Wheatley

85A New Street, Torrington, Devon, EX38 8BT

Home mobile: 07984058661

Work: councillor.wheatley@torridge.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats
(Liberal Democrats)
Shebbear & Langtree
photo of Councillor Jane Whittaker

Councillor Jane Whittaker

Saddleback House, 31 Century Drive, Northam, Bideford, EX39 1BE

Home: 01237 472315

Home mobile: 07812745834

Work: councillor.whittaker@torridge.gov.uk

Conservative
(Conservative)
Northam